What is going on at Fox News?

by
Since the fall out of Gretchen Carlson claiming sexual harassment I’ve noticed a number of other Fox News contributors leave the network.  This isn’t the group that said they would leave if Roger Ailes left but others that up until recently I hadn’t heard much from.  The latest Andrea Tantaros, like Gretchen Carlson, has filed suit.

 Andrea Tantaros

“Fox News masquerades as a defender of traditional family values, but behind the scenes, it operates like a sex-fueled, Playboy Mansion-like cult, steeped in intimidation, indecency and misogyny,” the lawsuit reads.(Kanter, 2016)

Kirstin Powers has also moved to CNN although I haven’t heard of any harassment suits yet.

alisynAnd finally, Alisyn Camerota and Mary Katharine Ham have also joined CNN.  What’s up?

Well as I sit in Colorado and not NY, DC or LA, I don’t have a clue.
But I  do have some thoughts.
mary

If what Gretchen and Andrea say is true, it’s not a surprise to lose some young talent who simply won’t play the game.  I’m not saying it is true, though. I liked Gretchen.  She seemed pretty straight forward and I also liked Andrea.  I’ll be looking for them wherever they land.

Kirkirstensten, I hold some hope for. While a liberal she often thinks and comes to the correct conclusion.  I wish she’d avoid politics. She was able to see the left’s attack on free speech however.

Camerota was another straight forward personality.

While there may or may not be something to the sexual harassment issues, I don’t trust most of these cases, I do wish Fox News would stop with the short dresses on all the women and go more for the smart, investigative type reporters instead of making them all look like they are just eye candy.

Fox has fallen like the rest, into a news channel with very little news and mostly commentary.  Can we not just get information and leave the sound bites alone?
Probably not.  But I sure would love to see some decent news channels in the US someday.  At this point, none of them impress me.

The real shame is that with 24 hours news channels and lots of time to fill, there could be some great in-depth reports on many subjects.  But those reports are instead few and far between.

I find most of the deeper journalism in foreign or independent news outlets and blogs.  While they may also be biased they are usually honestly so.

http://www.businessinsider.com/andrea-tantaros-lawsuit-against-fox-news-sexual-harassment-2016-8

Leave a Reply

