Brian Williams, fire him?

by

Brian Williams apparently fabricated a story about being shot at while flying in a helicopter in Iraq back in 2003, then told this fabrication numerous times. Should he be fired from NBC?

On the face of the reports it seems Williams lied on TV. If this was just in a barroom or some cocktail party it wouldn’t matter a wit. But for someone whose job it is to report the news it would seem accuracy and truthfulness would be kind of important.

Now as we look back at other reports they also appear a bit enhanced. It’s reported that he once said he saw a body or bodies floating by in New Orleans. The word is he was in the French Quarter where it did not really flood that much. I was in New Orleans not long after the Hurricane supporting the security efforts and the French Quarter didn’t look any different than it had a couple of years earlier when I had been there before the flood. But then in reality New Orleans didn’t look much different anywhere as far as I could tell.

But I don’t know what he actually said and frankly the news business is so bad now that I don’t know if it really matters one way or the other. I didn’t watch him anyway.

 

Update: check out the Diplomad’s take on this.

There is something in the progressive mind-set that promotes, nay, requires compulsive lying. We see it in John Kerry and his fake stories of secret missions in Cambodia and his flying dog; Hillary Clinton and her Bosnian snipers; Susan Rice and her video explanation for Benghazi; Eric Holder with Fast and Furious; and even FDR who famously said these words now engraved on his DC monument,

I have seen war. I have seen war on land and sea. I have seen blood running from the wounded. I have seen men coughing out their gassed lungs. I have seen the dead in the mud. I have seen cities destroyed. I have seen 200 limping, exhausted men come out of line—the survivors of a regiment of 1,000 that went forward 48 hours before. I have seen children starving. I have seen the agony of mothers and wives. I hate war.

In fact, of course, he saw none of these horrors. Those things tend not to happen in Hyde Park, New York.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

