Ender’s Game

My son and I started listening to the audio recordings of Ender’s Game.  For those that don’t know Ender’s Game it’s a story set in the future where earth is preparing for the second war with aliens called Buggers.  The government has been monitoring children for the signs of the next great military leader to fight that next battle with the Buggers.  Ender is a six year old recruited into Battle school as that possible leader.  Ender has an interesting take on things.  He is no hero and excels mainly due to a healthy fear of other taking advantage of him. 

I first read Ender’s Game while attending the US Army Airborne School.  No, they don’t make you read it.  That was on my little bit of downtime.  Reading is often a great time killer while working your way through the various military schools.

I loved it then and still enjoy the story.  I’ve read in a couple of times now.  So, when I saw the audio book at our library I picked it up for my son.  We often either read or listen to Audio books at night before bed. 

So, far my son seems to be enjoying the story, but then what’s not to like, science fiction, spacemen, battle school, I mean come on. 

It’s a book I recommend and we’ll see how the audio book stands up to the paper version. 

A new movie version is soon to be released but I worry about any movie adaptation as it’s very tough to get into the character’s minds in a movie.  We’ll see.

For more info on Ender’s Game:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ender%27s_Game

http://www.amazon.com/Enders-Game-Ender-Book-1/dp/0812550706

http://www.clickondetroit.com/entertainment/-Ender-s-Game-star-says-book-fans-won-t-be-disappointed/-/1718940/19175520/-/gsd2vr/-/index.html

2 thoughts on “Ender’s Game

  1. Pingback: Ender’s World: Fresh Perspectives on the SF Classic Ender’s Game | SERENDIPITY

  2. I don’t even know the way I finished up here, but I believed this put up was once great. I don’t understand who you
    are but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger should you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

