Book Review catch-up

by

Ok a while back I listed my reading for that week.  I said I’d get back with a review.  Remember my reviews are just whether I liked the book or not.  If you want in-depth analysis check out a longer review from Amazon or some other book review site.

New bookthumbs up

The Forgotten

The Forgotten – David Baldacci

Army Special Agent John Puller is the best there is. A combat veteran, Puller is the man the U.S. Army relies on to investigate the toughest crimes facing the nation. Now he has a new case—but this time, the crime is personal: His aunt has been found dead in Paradise, Florida.A picture-perfect town on Florida’s Gulf Coast, Paradise thrives on the wealthy tourists and retirees drawn to its gorgeous weather and beaches. The local police have ruled his aunt’s death an unfortunate, tragic accident. But just before she died, she mailed a letter to Puller’s father, telling him that beneath its beautiful veneer, Paradise is not all it seems to be.

This book was a fun read.  It’s not terribly complex but interesting and a good beach read.  It’s not great literature and military enthusiast will find flaws but all in all I recommend it. 

Previous books from Januarythumbs up

clip_image001

Blink – Malcolm Gladwell

Blink is a book about how we think without thinking, about choices that seem to be made in an instant-in the blink of an eye-that actually aren’t as simple as they seem. Why are some people brilliant decision makers, while others are consistently inept? Why do some people follow their instincts and win, while others end up stumbling into error? How do our brains really work-in the office, in the classroom, in the kitchen, and in the bedroom? And why are the best decisions often those that are impossible to explain to others?

I liked Blink but it wasn’t any great leap for me.  Malcolm really just described what I’d always suspected about the sub-conscious mind and intuition. I’d recommend this book from the library but wouldn’t buy it.thumbs down

clip_image003

Father Night – Eric Van Lustbader

As, I stated a few weeks ago, Eric’s books lately just haven’t been it for me.  I made it about a third of the way through this book then set it aside never to return.  It was just too chaotic.  There were too many subplots and it lacked something.  I don’t recommend.

 

thumbs down

clip_image004

Drug war Mexico – Peter Watt and Roberto Zepeda

This book started off a bit politically slanted then drove straight off the cliff.  If you believe all of Mexico’s drug war problems are caused only by the mean US then this book will work for you.  I kind of knew this starting out but hoped facts would still be useful. It wasn’t.  I don’t recommend.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

