Reading list this week

I know it’s been a couple of days since the last post. I’ve been debating on what to comment about. The world is a mess right now and there are certainly many subjects to write about. Frankly it’s too depressing so I’m going in a different direction today. The world will have to take care of itself for a while.

What am I reading?

clip_image001The current read is Blink.

Blink is a book about how we think without thinking, about choices that seem to be made in an instant-in the blink of an eye-that actually aren’t as simple as they seem. Why are some people brilliant decision makers, while others are consistently inept? Why do some people follow their instincts and win, while others end up stumbling into error? How do our brains really work-in the office, in the classroom, in the kitchen, and in the bedroom? And why are the best decisions often those that are impossible to explain to others?

This is somewhat interesting but not really anything new. While it does give some incite into quick decisions and subconscious thinking so far (2/3 through) it’s nothing groundbreaking for me as least.

clip_image003Second Book is Father Night by Eric Van Lustbader

Department of Defense special agent Jack McClure has followed this trail of shadows and lies right into the arms of Gourdjiev’s alluring, powerful granddaughter, Annika Dementiev. The lovers are in Moscow when news of Dyadya’s failing health draws a slew of vultures–circling, anxious to seize the empire of secrets he spent a lifetime building. Jack and Annika find themselves locked in battle to ensure his safety…but when it comes to Dyadya, nothing is as it seems.

I used to read Lustbader books often a few years ago but the last few weren’t quite what I was looking for. In this, Doug McClure novel I find a familiar character but in the first few chapters it’s not lighting a fire under me to read. This can be natural at the start of a book but let’s hope it picks up a bit. It seems too unreal. I can deal with that to some degree with any novel but I have to be able to suspend belief long enough to complete the story. We’ll see. I loved the Nicholas Linnear Ninja novels but everything he has put out since then have been hit and miss with me.

clip_image004The third book is Drug War Mexico (politics, neoliberalism and violence in the new narcoeconomy) by Peter Watt and Roberto Zepeda

In this insightful and controversial book, Watt and Zepeda throw new light on the situation, contending that the ‘war on drugs’ in Mexico is in fact the pretext for a US-backed strategy to bolster unpopular neoliberal policies, a weak yet authoritarian government and a radically unfair status quo.

The start of this book covers historical aspects of the drug trade from early 16th century Spanish. I’ve only just begun this book and the first chapter is all I’ve read but so far it’s been very interesting. Historical perspective might be the best place to look before we continue with our Drug War here in America also. Of course the Drug War in Mexico directly affects the US so I’m looking forward to see what the conclusions are in the author’s research. By the description the book appears to have a political agenda. But I can live with that if the facts are real.

I’ll try to remember to post a review once I’ve finished.

Leave a Reply

