Just some thoughts

When major events happen I generally take a few days before I write anything here. That’s mostly because in the moment of an even it’s hard to see or think clearly. We know that we won’t have the information we need to make a rational comment. The Sandy Hook Elementary school killing spree is one of those events. I was in class when I checked the news quickly as the day was wrapping up. I caught a glimpse of the headline and only read a few lines. I had to shut it down. The story, the news site then log off.

Lately the news in general has been hard for me to watch as intensely as I normally do. Right is portrayed as wrong, bad is shown as good. We don’t seem to be pushing disaster away but rather we are plotting a course directly to it. Corruption is the standard not the exception, so I’ve been cutting way back on news. It’s become a farce where reporters are now reporting tweets and rumor. News that we truly need can’t be found. Only hype and spin. Breathless reporters in the faces of children prying the story from them trying to sound so sympathetic yet not quite pulling it off.

As a father all I wanted was to get home and meet my boy after his school day. I’m not an overly sentimental person but kids get to me. They always have, children in any land of any race or religion.

Of course the dialog quickly turned from the actual event to the political. The sides are martialing their forces to once again fight their personal ideological battles. No time for the grieving, no time for personal reflection or just a hand to the living victims. Nope their war goes on and this is just collateral damage. Or I suppose more like a useful event that shouldn’t go to waste.  The twenty four hour news-cycle beast must be fed. To read the comments on many news and social media sites is disgusting. But it’s a very good reflection of our society. I don’t need to point them out, you can see for yourself. We no longer have any sense of decency, courtesy, or real compassion. Not publically anyway.

Civilization is dying, not in the actions of a madman but in the reaction of a nation and its gatekeepers. Let the families of the victims bury their loved ones.  There is plenty of time to return to the cause of the week.

One thought on “Just some thoughts

  1. The day will come, in the not too distant future, when I will sail away from the grid. I mean that quite literally. I will not mourn the loss of the news cycle from my life. Wondering what the weather will bring to my sails and shall I have a beer or a boat drink will be my largest care in the world. MY world, not the world imposed on my by the media and warring political factions. This once great Nation weakens by the minute. There’s lots of blame to go around. It’s not even worth getting into. Gather your family around you and have a Merry Christmas or whatever holiday you choose to celebrate. When it comes right down to it, that’s all that really matters, right?

Leave a Reply

