Why are news magazines failing?

by

Newsweek announced it will cut its print magazine. Why? Well just look at the actual print magazine. It’s more like a fashion magazine where the advertisement outweighs the actual articles. Then add to that the articles appear to be geared to the short attention deficit crowd and little if any actual detailed information. They are tabloids in disguise. Now this is not just Newsweek but most magazines out there today.

I love printed material but I want something in them. I want something there. I want something I can go back to time and time again for reference or insight. Todays’ news magazines don’t do that. So why would I buy one when I can get my 80 seconds around the world online or during a quick look at the news screen in the airport?

I don’t know if it’s the editors or the journalist these days but something is failing. I stop buying Newsweek many years ago. I stopped buying USA today years ago for the same reason. Believe it or not people want real news, real information with some background and less opinion.

5 Responses to “Why are news magazines failing?”

  1. anan Says:

    The financial times and economist are good. Wall Street Journal is decent. Many of the tech blogs and magazines are also good.

    The world continues to generally and slowly get better. As it has for generations.

  2. JB Says:

    ANAN, I’m just talking about the printed magazines and I agree there are some still producing though not always the biggest names. I used to read the economist and at times still pick it up. I can’t say I’ve picked up a good tech mag in a while however I’m not into the tech stuff like I once was. The online content of many sites is much better. I think it’s a shame though as again I like paper in my hands.

  3. armyveteran Says:

    You are absolutely correct. I never liked USA Today. News Week was once a favorite of mine, but they stopped giving in depth info, info that was worth reading again, so I did not renew my subscription. Seems like its been at least 20 years since I had NewsWeek delivered to my home. The only times I read either one of these “publications” is when I am at a doctors office, and there is nothing else to read. Both of these “publications” are guilty of too much fluff.

    mark

  4. 11th Says:

    I stopped reading Papers and Magazines Years ago. I read my Propaganda right from the Net for Free…

    11th

  5. chilihntr Says:

    Without papers, what would we hit our dogs with????

Leave a Reply

