Buyin Beer

by

I was just out buying a six pack of beer ostensibly because my wife needed a beer to cook with (uh huh…) and the sticker shock floored me.
I guess it’s time to start asking the questions;
Are we better off financially then we were two or four(the time when the democrats took a majority in both houses). Are we safer now than before this administration took over? Is the cost of doing business better? Now I know what I think, and it sure isn’t a resounding “YEAH!” Call me jaded. Call me biased. Call me a Racist. Just don’t call me late for this shrimp gumbo my wife is making. Let’s start a dialogue. I’d sure be interested in facts to back up any yes votes in the blogosphere. In the mean time, I’ll sip on my maple syrup infused cognac and wait for some good discourse.
Chili out!

13 Responses to “Buyin Beer”

  1. 11thacr Says:

    What in the hell is maple Syrup infused Cognac Chil???

    11th

  2. chilihntr Says:

    I watched a program on the food channel that featured the “thirsty traveler”. He was in Quebec and their maple syrup is as world reknowned as Vermont’s. They use it in many cocktails. I tried some in cognac and it was just enough to give it an essence of maple but not a sweetness.

  3. 11thacr Says:

    So a teaspoon in a Sniffer or just a tad bit?
    I’ll try anything…

    11th

  4. chilihntr Says:

    I would say even less, and it’s real maple syrup, not your Aunt Jemimah’s. I liked it even better with some good brandy and an ice cube.

  5. 11thacr Says:

    I will try that…Sounds like it might taste pretty Good….
    Thanks,

    11th

  6. chilihntr Says:

    Next I’ll be doing a “best sausage’ recipe……

  7. 11thacr Says:

    I would like to get some recipes….I have a friend here at work that gave me a barbecue sauce recipe that is Killer. Maybe Chili should add a Recipe Blog for US Back Yard barbecue Enthusiasts…

    11th

  8. chilihntr Says:

    Stand by to stand by……

  9. chilihntr Says:

    Chili’s Best Italian Sausage Recipe EVER;
    2lb chili size ground pork
    1tbls salt
    1tbls fennel ground between your palms
    1 1/2 tables sweet paprika
    1tbls finely minced fresh garlic
    1tbls sugar
    1tsp black pepper
    3tbls red wine vinegar
    1tsp red pepper flakes
    gently mix all ingredients
    patties, link or meatballs
    grill it, fry it drop it into tomato sauce
    guarantee you’ll love it

  10. 11thacr Says:

    Thanks Chili , I will definitely give this a Try.

    11th

  11. 11thacr Says:

    Here is that BBQ Sauce from my Buddy Paul.
    *Paul’s Bar-B-Q Sauce*

    Ingredients:

    1 cup ketchup
    1 cup white vinegar
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
    1/2 cup molasses
    1/4 teaspoon onion powder
    1/2 cup honey (1/4 cup if you use brown sugar)
    1/4 cup brown sugar (optional)
    1/4 teaspoon Tabasco pepper sauce
    1 teaspoon liquid smoke
    1 teaspoon Paul’s Pele Powder (Or to taste)

    1. Combine all of the ingredients for the barbecue sauce in the saucepan over high heat. Blend the ingredients with a whisk until smooth.

    2. When the mixture comes to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer uncovered.

    3. In 30 to 45 minutes, when the mixture thickens, remove it from the heat. If you overcook it and make the sauce too thick, thin it with more vinegar.

    I substitute his Pele Powder with Tony Chachere’s Cajun Seasoning…

    11th

  12. chilihntr Says:

    I see JB sadly shaking his head at the direction the blog is taking……

  13. JB Says:

    Nah, you can never go wrong with booze and food.

Leave a Reply

