Elton, are you even a citizen?

LOS ANGELES (AP) – Sir Elton John is "fed up" with being a treated like a "second-class citizen" in the U.S. That’s why the 63-year-old gay singer said he took a stand last week during a performance at a private Beverly Hills fundraiser for the ongoing legal challenge to California’s gay marriage ban.

Elton_John

Um, aren’t you a British citizen?  So as much as I like your music and I do.  STFU….

Look Elton is treated like royalty by everyone.  The idea he would complain about Gay marriage in America is fine but he shouldn’t act as if he’s not treated well here. 

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “Elton, are you even a citizen?

  1. Well “Sir” Elton, there was a certain talented band by the name of The Dixie Chicks that used their first amendment rights to speak out about certain things. Now they had every right to do this. It was also the rights of everyday American citizens to spend or not spend their hard earned dollars on their music. That was effectively the end of their popularity. Maybe you should think about that before you open your mouth about a country that has made you very, very rich in spite of your self-admitted personal conduct that has gone way past “alternative” many, many times. Maybe you could list all the affronts that you have had to withstand in a country where from what I have seen in the last 40 years, you have been nothing but idolized. I second JB’s why don’t you STFU!

  2. Don’t know the context of his comments.

    Might he mean that he, as a British American, is discriminated against because of his “Britishness”? If so, then guilty as charged, he is right, there is some anti British racism in America and around the world. There is also “SOME” racism against every other ethnic and cultural group in America and in every other country on earth. Elton should set a positive example by pushing on despite racism, and not complaining. Few like whiners.

    Elton might also be refering to discrimination against gays in America. If so, he has a point. Not in Beverly Hills! But in some other parts of America.

    chilihntr and JB, I am sure you have met other gay Americans with similar perspectives who are emotional about this issue. One way to interact with them is to let them vent, and listen silently. Not telling you that you should do that, mind you. 😉

  3. It’s a funny thing here in America. You have the right to speak your mind but also allows others to criticize. What a wonderful Thing. Only in America…

    11th

  4. Anan, the context was that he was complaining about the inability for gays to marry in many parts of America, and not nationally accepted. I don’t have a problem with that part, but to suggest that he is treated badly because of it is silly.

    Be passionate about your issue, but don’t use false accusations.

    As for anti-British racism, I can’t say I’ve ever in my entire life seen that here. But then I’m not an overly sensitive person and frankly anything that might offend someone might be called racism. That doesn’t mean it is. But there are here just like everywhere dumbasses. Now me, hell I’ll hang out with a Brit any day of the week as long as they’re not pissing into my beer. Strange how many Brits seem to thinks that’s funny.

    Elton is treated in America like a living legend and in my opinion when it comes to music he might well be. I appreciate that. But when I hear the words second class citizen based on one issue he doesn’t agree with I become mildly irritated.

    America isn’t perfect and we sure as hell have a lot of problems with many today that don’t believe in the ideas this country was founded upon, however 90% of what I hear from high profile foreign born celebrities is all THEY think is wrong with the country that has often given them the very life they enjoy.

    How often have we heard a big ass thank you for the humanitarian help we always provide around the world without any strings? Not very often. So when a selfish old rich man bitches like a girl about my country I don’t particularly like it.

    That said once again thanks for visiting and continuing to keep things moving here. Makes it much more interesting.

    And 11th I have to argue with now and then just on family principle. 😉

  5. “America isn’t perfect and we sure as hell have a lot of problems with many today that don’t believe in the ideas this country was founded upon” True. Could say the same thing about every other country in recorded human history.

    “however 90% of what I hear from high profile foreign born celebrities is all THEY think is wrong with the country that has often given them the very life they enjoy.” You over state your case. I find foreigners to be much more pro American than American hollywood types
    🙂
    Also find foreign born American hollywood types to be more pro American than American born hollywood types. 😉 Heck, bet you agree with me on this too!

    “How often have we heard a big ass thank you for the humanitarian help we always provide around the world without any strings? Not very often.”
    Actually, foreigners do sometimes thank America for this. They also thank other countries for this. I don’t think foreigners are any less grateful to American donars than they are to donars of any other country.

    “So when a selfish old rich man bitches like a girl about my country I don’t particularly like it.” Truth be told, it sometimes bugs me too. Maybe the best way to respond is to listen respectfully and let them vent off. Respect their right to their own point of view. Don’t apologize for our own perspective. But don’t respond emotionally. Chill. Be cool. Move on. Its like . . . “ZEN.” I think folks respect us when we are cool, calm, upbeat, respectful, but firm in our own views.

    You can’t always agree. But you can disagree agreeably.

  6. Yes, JB, you definately need to center yourself. I’m in the lotus position even as I type this. (now there is an interesting mental image…)

  7. I’m always Centered…When I get a bit tilted I have a shot of Cognac and that pretty much straightens me right out. I will not give any Mental Images at this time….

    11th

Leave a Reply

