A couple of quotes for ya

by

“It is generally inadvisable to eject directly over the area you just bombed” – U.S. Air Force flight training manual

“Cluster bombing from B-52s is very, very accurate. From 30,000 feet, every single bomb always hits the ground.” – U.S. Air Force ammunition memo.

“A slipping gear could let your M203 grenade launcher fire when you least expect it. That would make you quite unpopular in what’s left of your unit.” – Army preventive maintenance publication

Coffee tastes better if the latrines are dug downstream from an encampment.     – US Army Field Regulations, 1861 Military

Never tell the Platoon Sergeant you have nothing to do.     – unknown Marine Recruit

9 Responses to “A couple of quotes for ya”

  1. 11thacr Says:

    Never take a Roll Call and Quote what Uncle Bill Taught ya…
    “Five Dead , Five in the Head , Five in the Canteen , Five I ain’t Never Seen , Wouldn’t be here if I didn’t have to Report SIR!”
    I did such a Thing one morning in Nam when my Platoon Sgt. gave me an order to take his Place in the Morning Roll Call.

    11th

  2. JB Says:

    11th, sometimes I think you and Dad had the same outlook on authority.. didn’t think much of it…lol

  3. Chuck Says:

    You two are pretty funny…

  4. 11thacr Says:

    Actually JB I have no Problems with Authority. The problem is the Jacka$$ that thinks he his the Supreme Being and trying to tell me how to do my JOB. Telling me to have my Men pick up cigarette butts in Nam is a Bit Petty. So I went and Picked them up myself and told my Men to just do their Jobs. Of Course I got caught doing it my way and was Reprimanded for it but the Capt. in Charge knew He was not going to break me and that he knew that I knew What he was doing was to mold me into his type of NonCom. Just doesn’t work that way. Maybe in the States but Not in a War Zone. There are different Rules when you are on the Ground of a Battle Field. State side you have to keep your boots polished , Understood.

    11th

  5. JB Says:

    First off 11th I’m surprised you didn’t realize the importance of picking up cigarette butts in the proper manner. I mean my god man that’s critical stuff in combat. Along with shining boots and haircuts and such. WTH were your soldiers thinking smoking also? That’s not PC. Wait that was a long time ago. Maybe it was ok then. As a fully commisioned officer myself, granted a warrant, I see how you complety missunderstood how this all works but then enlisted rarely do.

    You know I’m kidding right..lol

  6. 11thacr Says:

    You do know that you are the FIRST Officer in the Family and we have many Veterans in our Family starting from WW1. I personally do not hold a Grudge but a Few Marines in the Family Might. Where is Your DAD when I need him???

    11th

  7. JB Says:

    Dad has been in Florida visiting his brother. Should get back today sometime.

  8. 11thacr Says:

    I’m still a couple of years from being able to retire. When I do I want to take a trip to Wyoming and will stop by for a visit. We will coordinate with your Dad so I can hopefully see him at the same time. Maybe have a few Brews and talk about some OLD Times. And would like to Meet Chuck also….I know I owe him a Beer…

    11th

  9. Chuck Says:

    I’m a cheap date…

Leave a Reply

