What was I thinking?

Ok so those that read this site often have seen the name Chuck in the comments section.  Well Chuck being the good friend he is calls me up and says hey lets sign up for the experience motorcycle course this next weekend.  See on Fort Carson it appears they are going to a policy that you must have not just the basic riders’ course to ride on post but the experienced rider or advanced riders course.  Ok I reply, I mean why not knock it out.  But I didn’t think real clear.  See its February in Colorado.  That means its freaking cold. 

 
So at 0500 on Sunday (not the time I wish to get up on a Sunday) I raise, take a shower and dread getting outside and starting my motorcycle up.  It was surprisingly warm however, like oh 30 degrees.  No, really that is warm right now.  

 
I put on my gortex jacket and pants and some snow gloves and figured I’d be fine.  Nope, at 50 MPH snow gloves weren’t enough.  My ride to the course was on the opposite end of Colorado Springs, not a long way but at 30 degrees on a motorcycle longer than I really wanted to go.

 
I arrived (late, went to the wrong locations first) with stinging fingers and the question running through my head, “what the hell am I doing this in winter for.”  But I was there. 

 
The course really was just a refresher of the Basic riding course but this time with our own bikes.  Not little 250cc bikes but now with our own,  mine is an 800 cruiser, Chucks a 1000cc VStrom and the other bikes were a nice new Victory and a Wide Glide Harley.   There was one Suzuki 450, kind of a relic which was pretty cool ( not sure what year it was, Chuck probably knows). 

 
Funny doing the figure eight in the box with a bigger bike really wasn’t that bad though. 

 
We made it through the day and actually it turned out to be fun. 

 Chuck and I left the course and headed straight to the Elephant Bar and Grill.  Now I know you’re thinking we would probably be having a nice brew but frankly it was too damn cold for that.  Both of us were chilled to the core and instead a hot cup of coffee was the ticket.
So the moral to the story is you CAN do a motorcycle course in the winter in Colorado but hell, just wait till summer.  It will be much nicer and you can have beer after instead of coffee.

6 thoughts on “What was I thinking?

  1. Actually we should have started day with drinks for the anit-freeze properties! Because when it was all said and done, it took me 3 hours after the riding to warm up. BTW, cool GS 450L model was a 1981 in 98% new condition. Guy got it from his next door neighbor for $500. I’m never in the right place at the right time for these deals.

  2. TOO FUNNY! ..LOL … I SEEN A GUY ON A BIKE THE OTHER DAY WHEN IT WAS IN THE 20’S, HE HAD THAT LOOK LIKE ..WHAT WAS I THINKING… AS HE WAS SHIVERING AT THE LIGHT..I HAVE TO ADMIT THAT IS DEDICATION TO RIDING!

  3. Dedication was NOT the first Word that came in Mind for Me…..
    And I am beginning to Like Chuck a lot More…He is a lot like Me. The other day I talked a friend of mine to go Jogging a couple of miles in the Rain….No….I did not Jog …I said I talked him into it…I was inside by the Fire Place sippin on some Cognac…

    11th

  4. Nice! Proud owner of a 1978 Harley Davidson FXE Superglide. Come on down here (ABQ, NM) and we can go for a ride that will be warmer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

