The beginning of the end

by

Today I attended my first retirement briefing. I now have a firm date, orders and leave paperwork in hand. While I still have many months away from completing my service it’s a strange feeling to see orders stating “you are released from active duty” “thank you for your service”.

Now I have to actually think about that next career since military retirement won’t actually pay my bills. But it will help. So over the next couple of months I’ll begin the process of moving on. I’ll have to review and update my resume and perhaps pursue that Masters degree I kept putting off.

But for tonight it’s a nice feeling to be close to the next phase of life.

I’ve been asked if I’ll miss it. I’m sure that I’ll forget all the bad and remember only the good and at times miss the adventure, but overall no, I hope to be too busy on the next career to reminisce too terribly much on the old.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “The beginning of the end”

  1. Juan Says:

    Get that masters and maybe look into getting into the Wexford Group.

  2. JB Says:

    yeah I think the education must continue. What is the Wexfor Group?

  3. Juan Says:

    The Operational Applications Group part of the Wexford Group does high speed, low drag type stuff and works with the Asymmetric Warfare Group. Everyone that I know that worked with them enjoyed it. But only if you want to stick with the SF stuff.

    http://thewexfordgroup.com/
    http://www.awg.army.mil/
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asymmetric_Warfare_Group

  4. ymarsakar Says:

    Onward and upward.

Leave a Reply

