Star Trek

I remember watching Star Trek reruns every night as a kid.  I was just born when the series first aired so I missed it the first go around.  The best part of Star Trek was the characters.  They grew on you.   I also liked the deep rich colors.  I knew watching a new Star Trek without Shatner and Nimoy would be tough.  I mean these guys made the characters.  Really is there anyone that can overact like Shatner?  When you go see something like this you have to just put it all aside and give the movie a chance on its own.

I went to the Saturday matinee and the place was packed.  I felt for the poor bastards that had to sit in the first few rows.  You know the ones where you star straight up and have to actually move your head to see the sides of the screen.  Oh well guess you should arrive a little earlier. 

So here’s what I thought. 

First the good parts: It’s pretty fast paced.  I mean much faster than any of the other Trek movies.  This really doesn’t give you a lot of time to nitpick the subtle changes from the original Star Trek.

 
The Enterprise looks good and very bright.  I liked that although I kind of missed the clunky old set.  But I liked that it wasn’t dark and moody like so many SCIFI films these days.  I mean would you build a ship you have to live on for 5 years dark and depressing?  Luckily all the Star Treks seemed to get this.

The stars did good jobs in their roles.  I don’t really have much more to say on that as none really stood out except maybe Scotty (Simon Pegg) who was pretty funny and Nero (Eric Bana).
Action was good, and effects were good.  Someone on another site complained about explosions in space and that you can’t hear them in a vacuum but honestly who cares.  I didn’t

The bad:  I really get tired of the over used time travel gimmick.  I would have preferred that not have been used and a real story of how thing evolved been told.  But not a big deal
I didn’t like how Kirk was made First Officer so easily.  Not likely to happen in any military organization.  I think a few years as an ensign would have made more sense.   I mean a CPT of a ship after one mission that he wasn’t supposed to be on?  Not likely.   Lots of skipping here.  Being in the military this is always hard to digest but oh well…

Overall I like the movie and will watch it again on DVD I’m sure.  It held my attention more than the Star Wars movies.  I don’t really know why though.

 

star_trek_poster05

One thought on “Star Trek

  1. I am so glad to hear all the mostly favorable reviews. I miss Star trek.
    And you are so right – all that dark and foreboding atmosphere in recent Sci Fi movies hasn’t been fun. I like spacey fun.

Leave a Reply

