Prince Harry at war?

It appears Prince Harry has spent the last ten weeks in Afghanistan.  The British press had agreed to not report the news till Harry was safely home.  Several news sources outside of England got the story and ran with it.  The Drudge Report gets most of the credit but I’m not sure it wasn’t reported by Germany news first.  Either way the news is out.

My thoughts on this are mixed.  First I would congratulate the Prince on joining our ranks as veterans.  The British news reports that are now openly talking about the deployments are a bit corny.  But I’m sure Harry is doing fine.

I like Harry.  He doesn’t fit the mold.  He’s rebellious yet dutiful.  Not politically correct and hell that’s what the world needs more of.  I remember when we were all informed that he would not be going to Iraq.  He stated he would quit.  It appears in the long run he won.  Good job.

I don’t know however if I like that fact that this was leaked and displayed on Drudge or any other news report.  I for one could have waited till Harry was home to hear of his exploits.  Another safe soldier is more important that this story.

So with that I’ll wish Prince Harry the best of luck.

2 thoughts on “Prince Harry at war?

  1. Used to be the British family needed these types of traditions to order to lead Britain correctly. The 2nd or third line for the throne usually went into the military, the diplomatic services, or the clergy. Brings the full spectrum of experiences to a ruling sovereign.

    Of course, now a days, Britain has no need for rulers or even leaders. They are just coasting on inertial. And when you are coasting on inertial, you really don’t need your potential future rulers to be taking any real risks.

Leave a comment